Latest...

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

AC35 Match: Day 1 with two races on tap in 9-12 knots

HAMILTON, BER – Races 1 and 2 of the 35th edition of the America's Cup, the oldest trophy in international sports, should happen today on schedule in light to medium air, 9-12 knots, in Bermuda's Great Sound beginning at 1400 ADT (1300 EDT, 1000 PDT). Racing will be carried live in the USA on the main NBC broadcast network (not the cable/satellite NBCSN channel as in past weeks for the preliminaries). You can also watch it on the excellent NBC Sports App on your phone, tablet or computer bowser.

Our Windy.com forecast is for the breeze to be a little lighter, but nonetheless raceable. Tomorrow looks good as well. Regatta Director Iain Murray said at his morning briefing for the media that he has high confidence in his weather team's forecast of 9-12 knots. The breeze, however, is out of the east. That means it is coming over the wider part of Bermuda, which produces puffier, shiftier conditions, and could make the racing more interesting than just a straight speed-fest.

Photo below was taken a few minutes ago by a friend just after ETNZ splashed their boat in prep for their pre-race sail and tune-up, and you can see their opponent, OTUSA, in the background about to crane their yacht into the water.

Again today your Ed. will write up a summary of each race as it happens, and post it immediately after each race with a relevant image. And don't miss our Facebook Live Pre-Race Show at 0930 PDT / 1230 EDT / 1830 CET / 0430 NZT on www.facebook.com/tom.ehman.