Latest...

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

World Sailing: On top of financial, governance, staffing and 2024 Olympic woes, now there's a le


SAN FRANCISCO (#1121) – For six months we've been reporting that "one hears" the Italian government was looking into alleged anti-competitive and monopolistic practices of World Sailing. Today, we hear that the other, bigger, shoe has dropped – that on Wednesday the European Union served formal notice on World Sailing that they (WS) are under investigation for such practices.

We can also confirm that Wednesday evening in Sarasota World Sailing President Kim Andersen (DEN) and the non-sailing CEO Andy Hunt (GBR) held an unprecedented closed-door meeting with the Board and Council. Following that meeting the rumors were rampant; rather than reporting on any of those tonight, we will go live Thursday afternoon with fact-based reporting and analysis from esteemed sailor-lawyer J. Joseph Bainton (USA), who is closely following all this at the meetings in Sarasota.

Please join us on Thursday for a special "Come Within Hail" with Mr Bainton live via Skype from Sarasota at 1300 PDT / 1600 EDT / 2000 UTC as always on our Sailing Illustrated Facebook page.