top of page

ICSA: College of Charleston wins prestigious Gill Coed College Dinghy Champs; Ian Barrows named Marl

CONGRATS TO THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON who came from behind on Friday to grab the top spot at College Sailing's most prestigious championship. Yale were runners-up, and Dartmouth third. Georgetown, who had reveled in Thursday's shifty conditions and were leading going into Friday's racing, struggled in the final day's steadier sea breeze and fell to sixth overall. Congrats also to Ian Barrows (Yale '17 / St. Thomas, USVI) who was named the Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year. Full story.

Sailing for Charleston in the Gill Coed Dinghy Champs were Stefano Peschiera '18 with Grace McCarthy '18 in A-division and Jack Cusick '17 with Chloe Dapp '17 in B-division.

Sailing for runners-up Yale were: Ian Barrows '17 and Clara Robertson '17 in A-division and Nicholas Baird '19 with Graceann Nicolosi '20 and Natalya Doris '17 in B-division. Barrows (second from right, standing) was named the Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year, and received the historic Everett B. Morris Trophy at Friday night's final prize giving for the 2016-17 college sailing season.

Sailing for third-place Dartmouth were Charles Lalumiere '17 with Rebecca McElvain '19 and Robert Floyd '17 with Madeleine Cooney '17 in A-division and Christopher Williford '19 with Sophie Kerr '17 and Nathaniel Greason '17 in B-division.

College Sailor the Year Ian Barrows (Yale '17)

Finally results, Gill Coed Dinghy National Championship....

Join our mailing list

Get an email when there is BREAKING NEWS or a MUST READ.

bottom of page