• Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

TFE LIVE #262: Paul Callahan, Luther Carpenter, Paul Cayard, Jack Gierhart, Jon Partridge (GBR), Katie Pettibone, Josh Toso and Bernie Wilson were gue...

Monday, February 10, 2020

TFE LIVE #260: John Sangmeister (USA), consummate yachtsman and sailing leader/activist, is our guest Friday live via Skype from Long Beach, CA

Friday, January 31, 2020

TFE LIVE: Kimball Livingston (USA), celebrated author and junior sailing expert, is our guest today live in-studio

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

LRPP Statement with team-issued photos: "It’s a new boat and something like this can happen"

Monday, January 27, 2020

AC36: Photo of the Day — Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli loses their rig overboard while training in Cagliari today

Monday, January 27, 2020

Please reload

BYC’s Christophe Killian Wins 51st Governor’s Cup; first winner from host club since 1980

Sunday, July 23, 2017

NEWPORT BEACH, CA – Christophe Killian, 20, of the host Balboa Yacht Club in Newport Beach, California, won the 51st Governor’s Cup International Youth Match Racing Championship on Saturday with a 3-1 victory over New Zealand’s Leonard Takahashi before a record number of spectator boats watching the action and a global TV audience on Facebook Live. Killian and crew Harrison Vandervort and Jack Martin  reached the finals with a 3-0 win over Christopher Weis of Del Rey Yacht Club, Marina del Rey, California.


Killian would be the first to admit that it wasn’t easy. While he won the first race against Takahashi with relative ease, the 18-year-old New Zealander came right back to tie the series with a win in race two. 


This morning Takahashi arrived at the club with a big smile and said, “I was so excited last night I couldn’t go to sleep.” Clearly sleep wasn’t an issue. Takahashi also pointed out, “I love to be the underdog.” 


Australia’s Harry Price, winner of the double round robin portion of the event – where every team sails against every other team twice – chose his opponent from among the semifinalists as is the practice in modern match racing events. Many observers predicted that he would choose the youngest sailor in the group, Takahashi, and he did so. But, like many such choices, sometimes they go terribly wrong; in this case, Price may regret that decision as Takahashi beat Price 3-1 in their semifinal.


Price, as World Sailing's sixth-ranked match racer, was a favorite coming into the event but a few uncharacteristic mistakes resulted in his loss to the young Kiwi to set up the what turned out to be an exciting Killian-Takahashi final.


Price and Weis sailed the petit final to determine third place. Price’s difficulties continued in a 3-1 loss to Weis.


GovCup 2017 winners Christophe Killian, Harrison Vandervort and Jack Martin. It's the first win for a BYC team since 1980, almost four decades.  TFE photo.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload