Latest...

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

FRIDAY'S TFE LIVE: Edit and Peter Harken (USA) via Skype from Pewaukee

Friday, June 26, 2020

MOB: Sending in a Second Soul?

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

TFE LIVE: Today, Richard Pound (CAN), longest serving member of the IOC, with his views on the postponed 2020 Olympics and the impact on International...

Tuesday, May 12, 2020

TFE LIVE: Today, Terry Hutchinson (USA), Skipper and Executive Director of NYYC's American Magic with his personal "Cupdate" and insight...

Friday, May 8, 2020

TFE LIVE: Today, Vittorio d'Albertas (ITA), sailmaker and budding YouTube star, live via Skype from Savona with his insight into the COVID crisis...

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

1/2
Please reload

AC35: Chief Ump Richard Slater (AUS) says in retrospect they would have green-flagged the Gate 6 incident

Monday, May 29, 2017

 

A GLUM-LOOKING CHIEF UMPIRE (in umpire lingo for radio comms and otherwise "Chief Umpire" is shortened, no joke, to "Chump") explains the call in a brief interview with ACTV's Genny Tulloch. I've known Richard Slater (AUS) for many years and he is honest to a fault. We have umpired together, I've had him on world championship juries that I chaired, and we were AC colleagues for I can't remember now how many campaigns, including AC34 in 2013 when he was OTUSA's rules advisor and I was head of external affairs, which are closely related.  He's highly respected by the sailors and fellow umps. There's no one in the world better, and he has few peers. As most things in the Cup his discussion with Genny was nuanced. "At the time we thought it was the right call, but with additional data and analysis in retrospect we would have green-flagged it." Note Richard didn't say "should have green-flagged it." For non sailors, "green flag" means no penalty – play on.

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload