Latest...

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

TFE LIVE #262: Paul Callahan, Luther Carpenter, Paul Cayard, Jack Gierhart, Jon Partridge (GBR), Katie Pettibone, Josh Toso and Bernie Wilson were gue...

Monday, February 10, 2020

TFE LIVE #260: John Sangmeister (USA), consummate yachtsman and sailing leader/activist, is our guest Friday live via Skype from Long Beach, CA

Friday, January 31, 2020

TFE LIVE: Kimball Livingston (USA), celebrated author and junior sailing expert, is our guest today live in-studio

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

LRPP Statement with team-issued photos: "It’s a new boat and something like this can happen"

Monday, January 27, 2020

AC36: Photo of the Day — Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli loses their rig overboard while training in Cagliari today

Monday, January 27, 2020

1/2
Please reload

AC35: Chief Ump Richard Slater (AUS) says in retrospect they would have green-flagged the Gate 6 incident

Monday, May 29, 2017

 

A GLUM-LOOKING CHIEF UMPIRE (in umpire lingo for radio comms and otherwise "Chief Umpire" is shortened, no joke, to "Chump") explains the call in a brief interview with ACTV's Genny Tulloch. I've known Richard Slater (AUS) for many years and he is honest to a fault. We have umpired together, I've had him on world championship juries that I chaired, and we were AC colleagues for I can't remember now how many campaigns, including AC34 in 2013 when he was OTUSA's rules advisor and I was head of external affairs, which are closely related.  He's highly respected by the sailors and fellow umps. There's no one in the world better, and he has few peers. As most things in the Cup his discussion with Genny was nuanced. "At the time we thought it was the right call, but with additional data and analysis in retrospect we would have green-flagged it." Note Richard didn't say "should have green-flagged it." For non sailors, "green flag" means no penalty – play on.

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload